Erlenmatt – where city chic and park life meet

Description

From old freight depot to trendy residential quarter.

In northern Basel, a former freight depot has been transformed into a vibrant new quarter. The new area sets the standard for sustainable development in the city and offers a glimpse of Basel’s future.

On this guided tour, you will discover how new living spaces have been created in Erlenmatt, just a stone’s throw from Basel city centre. In 2007, new developments gradually began to appear on this huge plot, which used to be the home of the Deutsche Bahn freight depot (nt/Areal). The area now boasts living spaces, parks and gardens, offices and commercial spaces, a school, a retirement home and several new bars and restaurants. The planning and construction stages focused on careful use of resources and ensuring an environmentally friendly approach, while social aspects were also given top priority during the quarter’s development. 

At the heart of this quarter characterized by contrasts is Erlenmattpark. Surrounded by buildings and covering around 50,000 m2, the park forms a green corridor that leads directly to the nearby Lange Erlen recreation area. On this circular walking tour, you will have the opportunity to appreciate the careful planning that went into this public park first-hand.

Language
German

Time
6.00 pm to 7.30 pm

Duration
1.5 hours

Meeting point
Main entrance of the Musical Theatre Basel

Tour ending point
Erlenmattpark

 

More information

Cancellation policy

No charges are incurred for cancellations and changes made up to 48 hours before the start of the tour. If you make any changes or cancellations after this time or fail to show up for the tour, the full price will be charged.

Payment policy

The total payment of the reservation is required at the time of booking.

Maps

Calculate the route

Erlenmatt – wo Stadt und Park zusammenwachsen

Beschreibung

Früher Güterbahnhof, heute Wohnquartier.

Im Norden von Basel ist dort, wo früher ein Güterbahnhof war, ein lebendiges neues Stadtquartier entstanden. Als Vorbild für eine nachhaltige Arealentwicklung weist es den Weg in die Zukunft. 

Auf dieser Führung entdecken Sie, wie im Erlenmattquartier neuer Lebensraum in unmittelbarer Stadtnähe erschlossen wurde. Auf dem weitläufigen Areal des ehemaligen Güterbahnhofs der Deutschen Bahn (NT-Areal) sind seit 2007 Schritt für Schritt Wohnräume, Grünanlagen, Büro- und Gewerbeflächen, eine Schule, ein Altersheim und neue gastronomische Angebote entstanden. Neben dem ressourcenschonenden, klimafreundlichen Planen und Bauen der Gebäude standen immer auch die sozialen Aspekte der Quartierentwicklung im Vordergrund.

In der Mitte des von Gegensätzen geprägten Quartiers: der Erlenmattpark. Der von den Gebäuden umschlossene rund 50’000 Quadratmeter grosse Park schafft als grüner Korridor eine direkte Verbindung zum Naherholungsgebiet Lange Erlen. Auf dem Rundgang lernen Sie das Konzept dieses im Detail geplanten, öffentlich zugänglichen Grünraums kennen.

Sprache
Deutsch

Zeit
18.00 - 19.30 Uhr 

Dauer
1.5 Stunden

Treffpunkt
Haupteingang Musical Theater

Endpunkt
Erlenmattpark

Weitere Informationen

Stornierungs­bedingungen

Stornierungen und Änderungen, die bis zu 48 Stunden vor Beginn der Führung erfolgen, sind kostenfrei. Verspätete Stornierungen und Änderungen oder Nichtanreisen werden mit dem Gesamtbetrag verrechnet.

Zahlungs­bedingungen

Die Vorauszahlung der gesamten Buchungssumme ist bei der Buchung erforderlich.

Karte

Route berechnen